When to buy a DAC?

stirfrizzle

Hey everyone. This is my first post here. Hopefully this isn't in the wrong forum, but the sticky at the top makes me think this is a relevant question(s).

My laptop is my main source of music. I usually play 320kbps MP3s or loseless files. I go from my laptop to an HK3390 receiver via a normal 3.5-RCA cable. My speakers are a pair of Polk Audio m50s, and a PSW10 subwoofer.

I've been reading up on DAC's, and most seem a wee bit out of my price range at the moment, but I've been looking specifically at the HRT Musicstreamer II. My question is: With my current equipment, would a modestly priced DAC make a sizable difference? It doesn't have to be day/night, but I'm a working student, so a day/night would be appreciated.

My second question is as followed: I occasionally listen to CDs through an old Denon DCD-1500II CD player. When I compare the CD player to my laptop, my CD player is much louder! Does anyone know why this might be? And what could I do to change it?

Thanks for any help. :thmbsp:

My second question is as followed: I occasionally listen to CDs through an old Denon DCD-1500II CD player. When I compare the CD player to my laptop, my CD player is much louder! Does anyone know why this might be? And what could I do to change it?

Thanks for any help. :thmbsp:

Do you want to make the CDP quieter or the laptop louder.

Last edited:
Do you wan to make the CDP quieter or the laptop louder.

Ha. I guess I never thought of that. Which should it be? I'd expect that it was the laptop that was too quiet. What do you think?

And before you ask, the CDP being louder isn't a problem, I know how to work a volume knob. I'm just wondering why it's louder compared to my laptop.

A lot depends on the laptop's sound chip and the DAC you select.
I'd venturne to say that even a middlin' DAC will outperform the usual laptop's sound system.