Woofer replacement help

Evanv99

Apologies if something has been posted likenthis already but I couldn't find it, but I am fairly new to all this , i have a set of xfinity sm 155s powered by a forte model 3 , I have heard that you get more power running 4 ohm speakers , and I blew the woofers on the 155s , so I am looking for replacement speakers ,and was wondering if I should replace with 8 ohm or 4 ohm ?

Thanks

If you look for direct replacements (ie, woofers pulled from other identical models), you shouldn't have to worry about impedance. They will be correct.

Any recommendations on other speakers?
Craigslist is a great place to look for great used speakers. What vicinity do you live? A quick search can pull up a few possibilities. What are you looking to spend? What type of music do you listen to? Every speaker is different and can do some things well, other things not. Otherwise you will get a bunch of answers from people about what they like and you may never find, or afford such.

Craigslist is a great place to look for great used speakers. What vicinity do you live? A quick search can pull up a few possibilities. What are you looking to spend? What type of music do you listen to? Every speaker is different and can do some things well, other things not. Otherwise you will get a bunch of answers from people about what they like and you may never find, or afford such.

I live in the Detroit area , I listen to alot but mostly metal ,so anything that can handle loud and fast ahaha ,

I would have to agree that the SM series was by no means one of Infinity's finest efforts, and probably not worth repairing. If you are looking for loud, fast and "in your face" sound on a $300 or so budget, I'd be looking at CV's and JBL's.