Yamaha CR-820

Rommaster

Marantz 2238B
So, my brother scored a Yamaha CR-820 yesterday at goodwill for $5 with the wood case (and a pioneer ct-f700 as well for $6). He brought it home, plugged it in, and it's not working. Led's on the face light up but no sound whatsoever on the speakers. No fuzz, no nothing on fm, am, aux, phono, anything. I checked the fuses and they're all OK. Basically, just wondering if there's any "achilles heel" of this unit that i can check before suggesting he just takes it to an electronics repair shop. I have some experience working on electronics, just not as familiar as i'm sure some of you guys are. Any suggestions?

Check for pre-main switch or jumpers - the jumpers often go missing or the switch gets flipped. (not sure if the 820 has these, but my 800 does). Also, check the DC offset at the speaker terminals (look for the sticky thread about it)...if this is way too high (several volts, not millivolts) then there is a problem.

If DC offset is OK, operate all the controls many times with the power off, then power it up (volume down!) and then try it again. Try headphones and listen for any noises or even hiss while operating the controls again - dirty contacts can cause trouble. If nothing works, try not to poke around inside. There are several threads here where someone asked advice, got some, poked around, and come back with "oh, some smoke came out when I tried this..." and one dead receiver. Much better than one dead AKer... (hope that never happens).

The AK expert on these is Merrylander. If you want it repaired right he can do it, if he's not overworked already! If the face is scratch free, IMHO these are worth repairing.

There are no pre-main switches or jumpers on the CR-820, so that won't be the issue.

Other than that, I wouldn't really know where to begin, other than to say good luck. I have a CR-820 myself, and I would agree that it is worth repairing. A very nice receiver when all is right.