Question about modern receivers and amps

Lschultz260

I recently lost my receiver, a Sansui 5000A, it died and was working unreliably when I first got it.

It couldn't handle two speakers at once on a higher volume, so I figured modern might be the way to go, even though I like the sound and aesthetics of vintage stuff far better

Forgive me, but I'm still learning, would an amp take the pressure off a vintage receiver so it could handle more volume and speakers
Not sure I completely understand the difference between receiver and amp

Any modern recievers or amps you reccomend?

I can get very nice vintage stuff from a guy I know, which I know is cheaper for a good quality item, so 300 is my budget there. I'd consider up to 450 for a nice new one though

Well, I'm young and new to this stuff, so I don't have a ton of money to spend.
I was eyeing some speakers, If I didn't buy those I could have a $650 budget for a new receiver or amp

receiver (tuner, amp, preamp..in one package basically) / amp (just a power amplifier..so you need a source with a preamp or a preamplifer) / integrate amp (power amp and preamp in one package... so if you want radio you need a separate tuner).

The yamaha A-S line is well regarded and in your budget
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha--S301B...ie=UTF8&qid=1428691576&sr=1-1&keywords=a-s301

or if you don't care about the optical inputs the old model A-S500
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha--S500B...ie=UTF8&qid=1428691519&sr=1-1&keywords=a-s500

First, just curious...why do you run 2 pairs of speakers at the same time?

Second, depending on how a receiver is designed, when you run 2 pairs at the same time it will either lower the impedance the amp sees or raise it. Raising is good, lowering it...not so much.

To do what you want, the options are:

Newer robust receiver that will laugh at hard loads (probably not going to be in your budget)

Newer receiver that doesn't halve the load when speaker A and B are played at the same time.