JBL C40 Harkness Score

jdwdmi

I saw these Sunday morning an hour after they had posted them on CL and with some advice from Cactus Bob on what to look for I moved quickly on them. They are in Mint shape. Just beautiful speakers in my eyes. They are the lowboys with the N1200 crossover. Serial numbers are 16701 and 16704, it would be interesting to date them. I haven't got that far yet.

I have only had a few hours of time with them but I am absolutely Loving them! I am no expert in audio, but just know what sounds good to my ears. As always my posts are a little rambling.

Out of the dozens of speakers I have owned these are shaping out to be my favs. The are just so open, effortless, detailed, smooth and just sound Big! The most important thing, they are musical!! I haven't had much time with them but they just disappear. The vocals sound so lifelike! They remind me of some Klipsch Forte's I owned in the regards they are dynamic, but so much more natural sounding....Not knocking Klipsch. Plus they are just so damn beautiful to look at!! I have a large room that these open up to and are filling the house well with stellar sound. If you see a pair, I would give them a chance.

I started off using a Marantz 2230 as a pre with a Mcintosh MC 2105. I have had several JBL's in the past, L166's, 4312B's, and some JBL L26. I have always preferred my Mcintosh gear with JBL's, just seemed to bring out the best in them.With the C40's the MC2105 just seemed a little to edgy. Granted I didn't have much time and I love my MC2105. I know my Mac has been serviced by a tech in Minneapolis and he replaced all the out of spec caps but not sure what all was done. That could be part of it. I will try it again later.

Yesterday I plugged my jumpers back in my Marantz 2230 that has had a complete recap of every lytic in it and brought to spec by an great tech. It really warmed the sound up, still has plenty of power for my needs and didn't lose any dynamics. Sounds incredible.