• Windows Vista

Votes: 41 7.7%
  • Windows 7

Votes: 163 30.5%
  • Windows '98

Votes: 4 0.7%
  • Mac OS X (any version)

Votes: 124 23.2%
  • Linux (post which one you use, i.e. Red Hat, Ubuntu, etc.)

Votes: 50 9.3%
  • Other (explain in your post)

Votes: 34 6.4%

• Total voters

pioneervato

Lunatic Member
I have been thinking about setting up an extra windows based computer that I have with Ubuntu just for fun and was wondering what OS system you currently run or would prefer to run. Also, any thoughts or advice running Linux and why?

I have more than one PC computer running XP but I also have a Mac Mini running OX X Leopard 10.5.8. I guess I should have included a dual platform choice but you can state that in your post if you like.

Last edited:
Advice ? I don't know. But I have been running a linux box for over 15 years here; used many distributions. Lately (some years) I have been using Kubuntu. I never managed to master gnome.

Helios

I used Linux Mint for a while and really liked the no-hassle setup. Yet, for whatever reason, I switched back to Windows. Probably because Win7-- for once!-- just works, and looks great too.
Have you considered upgrading to Win7? It really isn't bad at all! (of course, for the price, it BETTER work!) ;)

I have 2 XP Home and 2 XP Pro.I use the Pro's for my PC's, and the home for my folk's and sister's machines.Heck,I still have a couple of socket 478 MB's new in the box! Never even tried Linux, I just voted on the poll.

I have a variety. On one laptop, my home night and weekend surfer I have a dual boot into Windows 2000Pro that I really like. I also have mounted Fedora 12. I've tried a number of Linux distros and like Fedora best for my use. Also, I have an iBook with OS X 10.5.8 mounted that I use for surfing.

At my office my desktop has XP SP3 Pro that is also my quasi-server. One one laptop I also XP SP3 Pro and on another I'm using Windows 7 Pro. I've also got a spare desktop that I'll likely install XP Pro on.