Yamaha CA1000 III

Azza

Hi!
Im a new member on this forum and this is my first post .
Before I get onto my question, just a little introduction. Im primarily a musician and music maker who has recently discovered a love of all things electrical and old. It started with synths and audio efx and has now moved onto amps and speakers . Living in Japan gives me access to alot of the early stuff made by various Japanese companies. I have up until now been repairing old junked synths and audio efx and this is my first amp to try and fix.
I recently purchased a Yamaha ca 1000III for quite cheap as it was not working and Im now trying to diagnose the source of the problem. I plugged it in and connected my old ns10 speakers just in case something bad happened.
heres the details>>>
It powers on and the meter show an REC out/mv signal but no speaker out/W.
The volume is very low and distorted and only comes through on one of the phono inputs.I took off the cover and the inside is quite dusty .
I did some trawling on the web and found some other people referring to a similar problem with the same series of yamaha amps (but no solution) which makes me think its a common fault.
If someone could point me in the right direction as far as what possible component could be faulty it would be much appreciated. I do plan to take it apart and give it a good clean while Im repairing it and replace any bad caps with my trusty ESR cap tester (though I dont think caps are the problem).
Thanks in advance ,
Aaron

Last edited:
I'd suggest you do some reading on amplifier theory. Not to discourage you, but repairing these amps is very rarely as simple as "oh, just replace capacitor C301 on the power amp board". By the sounds of it, the pre-amp section is working. You could determine this for sure by running the pre-out of the CA1000 into a working amp.