Do you think being charged 80.00 for correctly balancing a TT counterweight/tracking

johnnyboy70

I'm getting a Music Hall MMF 5.1 SE Turntable soon. I've been emailing the shops in my area if they could help fine tune my TT so I could spin some records this weekend. I asked a shop if they could help out with balancing the counterweight and help with the tracking as that seems to be the hard part. I'm no novice but I thought being quoted 80.00 was a bit steep. Does anyone else think that's out of line? I thought about getting a stylus force scale myself and doing it. I don't believe it would be that difficult. Feel free to move this to dollars and sense if I'm posting in the wrong section. The other shop never got back to me but I don't think I want the hassle. When I lived in Minneapolis the guys at Needle Doctor would do it in a heartbeat no charge.

Get the tools and do it yourself. This is something that should be checked from time to time and being able to complete the task yourself is well worth it.

Considering that this is all fairly easy, if you're completely unfamiliar with the procedures, then you ARE a novice. Fortunately, there are some good instructions on various websites and YouTube.

I'd think it is out of line. If your not a novice, and have access to the manual, it's very easy. I all should have a stylus force gauge in our tool boxes. I'm sure AK'ers with your TT will chime.

Thanks for all your responses, much appreciated. I guess you could say I'm pretty hands off when it comes to the technical side of the TT's. I was able to balance my Project Debut 3 without too much of an issue. This is my first higher priced purchase so I thought I'd make sure everything was spot on from the beginning. Think I'll go ahead and purchase that scale