Kenwood KR-6050 Recap Questions

cvcruiser

Hello,
I'm planning on recapping this stereo but I have never done it before. I have already repaired the power switch flickering light issue and cleaned all pots.

I have no idea where to get started with recapping but am very excited to do this job.

A few questions to get the ball rolling:
- Which caps are the most important to replace?
- Where should I buy the caps?
- What type of caps should I purchase?
- Anything else I should be thinking of while I'm in there?

Thanks,
Chris

I just got finished working on of these over, so I'll try to help answer some of your questions.

I found the KR6050 to be rather easy to work on: Everything is pretty accessible without requiring a lot of parts removal. Mine had a couple of bulging capacitors. I'm not quite sure which ones they were, (I've worked on something since then) but I'm pretty sure they were in the power supply. Those are probably the ones subjected to the harshest conditions. The caps on the output boards would probably be next. I recapped the whole thing: All the electrolytics, but you could probably leave the tuner alone. In fact, most people would probably advise you to leave the tuner alone if it works okay and you're not planning on getting it aligned. There's a thread somewhere on here about what you should do and should-not-do to a tuner, but suffice to say that you can make a mess if you fiddle with something without knowing what you're doing.

I neglected to look at your location, but if you're in the US, Mouser or Digikey would be the sources to look at for capacitors and most other components you might need. I've ordered from both and they're both excellent. If you can put together a list, you might try both places to see if one or the other is preferable for the items you need. One may not have everything the other has.