The Fisher X-100B Testing Help Needed

K7JHG

I just got this X-100B and it is in very nice condition and sounds great. All of the function switches and controls seem to do what they are intended for. I believe it has all original parts and tubes - they all say Fisher on them. I replaced the bias capacitor (the big orange one on the bottom) but there is no room for replacing the one single and two multi stage filter capacitors under the chassis. The cans are not large enough to re-stuff - at least not with the caps I have. Do I need to purchase custom made cans for replacement??? That is the direction I am going. The 7868 output tube pins 3 and 9 voltages are good (40 and 432, respectively). I'm relatively new to restoration... what other testing and/or components replacements should I be looking for. Suggestions welcome. Thanks...

Attachments

• TOP.jpg
    TOP.jpg
    118.7 KB · Views: 71
  • BOTTOM.jpg
    BOTTOM.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 70
  • $T2eC16NHJH8E9qSEU5yBBQFGvMVWT!~~60_3.jpg
    $T2eC16NHJH8E9qSEU5yBBQFGvMVWT!~~60_3.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 67
  • $T2eC16RHJF8E9nnC7RTVBQFGvH1ej!~~60_3.jpg
    $T2eC16RHJF8E9nnC7RTVBQFGvH1ej!~~60_3.jpg
    143.4 KB · Views: 56
  • $T2eC16VHJGwE9n)yTeQ3BQFGuyQ)rg~~60_3.jpg
    $T2eC16VHJGwE9n)yTeQ3BQFGuyQ)rg~~60_3.jpg
    111 KB · Views: 61
Sharp looking unit!!

Along with what you have already suggested, you will also want to at least replace the coupling caps connecting the phase inverter tubes to the output tubes. That, along with the cathode bypass cap you have already replaced will ensure the safety of your output tubes.

There are many here with an X-100B that can offer plenty of wisdom as to how to best go about replacing the power supply caps.

Good luck with it!

Dave