Fisher 500C my first tube amp

Mcenroe7

Hi all..yesterday at an estate sale I was excited to find this. This is my first tube amplifier (I have one tuner I pair with a solid state amp). I want to make sure I bring this back to life safely, and being a novice at electrical..want to know what I can do specifically, to get it up and running? I have not plugged it in yet. It is missing four large tubes that are in the right rear corner. A friend has told me that they are called "7591 tubes". I am wondering should I plug it in and turn it on BEFORE these tubes are in, to see if it even powers up? Im sorry for my ignorance in advance..I am a rookie at solid state gear, so that should tell you where I stand on this one! The serial number, if I am reading correctly (not quite sure of last letter) is: 38319G.
any help or advice, at your convenience will be greatly appreciated!

1. Don't plug it in or turn it on WITHOUT the 7591's and speakers (or 50W 8ohm resistors, called dummy loads) connected.

2.)Get the Service Manual that has the schematic in it. Hifiengine.com has it. You have to register, but it's free.

3.) STUDY, STUDY, STUDY the schematic, and correlate the schematic with the parts underneath. Learn the basics of Ohms law and learn how to apply it.

4.) Have the tubes that are there tested. Usually Ham Radio clubs will have guys that have all the testing gear.

5.) Study all of the 500-c and 800-C rebuild threads in the forum. The 800-C is Identical except for having a AM Band on the tuner.

6.) If your level of experience is what i think it is, you'd probably be better served sending it off to Terry DeWick or Mike Urban. Both have banners at the bottom of the page. If you're in the Southeast, send to Terry. If in the Northeast Send to Mike. If you're out west, Fred (can't remember his last name......) in San Diego can fix it. Fred has a shop out there. (need some help here guys).