Do I have the right tools to measure/adjust bias on solid state amps?

JoshHendi

^ElectroNerd^
So I want to know if I have the right tool to measure my amps bias. I have never done so before, and have a few amps I want to check/adjust.

My meter is a Klein CL3000

For the first amp, Sansui au717, I checked the manual and it says the range should be 20mv +/- 1mv. Now my Klein meter can read DC mv

Then I read the manual for my Sansui au9900, its measurements range is 50ma +/- 1ma

My meter has an option to read DC voltage, but am I right when I see that the only ampreage reading option is AC only? Therefore I cannot check the bias on my 9900, but I can with the 717?

BTW I have read that there are other ways to check the bias of an amp besides what the manuals instruct, but with me being a noobie, don't want to get too 'risky' or outside the guidelines, at least right away. Please feel free to let me know other ways of checking, if they aren't incredibly risky or challenging.
Is it possibly to check/adjust bias of any amp with my current meter?

Excuse my ignorance, I am trying to learn!

EDIT: I have now picked up two Fluke meters that can read MAs as well as MV, with two sets of clips/grabbers

Attached pic of my meter

Attachments

• 20150423_130733.jpg
    20150423_130733.jpg
    73 KB · Views: 59
Last edited:
The meter is able to read mv... there is range button which allows a mv reading, so I can do the 717 by the manuals steps.

But I was afraid I was right in not being able to read the 9900

So I am currently reading the au717 and got everything connected correctly and everything looks good.

Could someone possibly explain in a little detail how to check the au9900 using a mv reading? I did some reading on the linked thread http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=520954&page=2
but am still a little confused on where to hook up my leads on the emitter resistor exactly...

Last edited: