Nakamichi TA-2A with no sound...

Hello all,

Today I went to an estate sale and found a pristine Nakamichi TA-2A. No scratches or other visible wear on the outside, just covered with dust. I brought it home and hooked it up...all the lights and switches seem to be working and I can hear the "click" a few seconds after powering up but I can't get any sound out of it. I tried both A/B channels and nothing. What I do hear after turning it on is a slight buzzing noise from the transformer...or at least it sounds like that's where it's coming from. I thought that may be the problem but I'm a novice at best when it comes to the internal workings of an amp. Any suggestions on how to better diagnose the problem would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Back panel, more or less dead center, just to the left of the speaker connections. No need to open anything.

Happy trails,
Larry B.

I'll bust it open and check. Just to be sure, is there any way you can help me identify where the jumpers are?

Like these

Pre Output to Main Input:

p1100951.jpg

There are no jumpers! Man it was right in front of me and I never even thought to look. Could I use a short set of RCAs or do I actually need jumpers?

Let us know what happens once you connect the cables. I also have a TA-2A, with a strange problem.

Sunny, is that pic yours or off the net?

Happy trails,
Larry B.

Let us know what happens once you connect the cables. I also have a TA-2A, with a strange problem.

Sunny, is that pic yours or off the net?

Happy trails,
Larry B.

From the web.

I had the same missing jumper issue with Rotel RX-855 though. :)

What kinda problem are you having?
I have 4A if you think of upgrading. ;)