Need some help: Inherited kappa 6.1 series ii

slackie911

Hi guys, I'm new here and came seeking advice about a pair of infinity kappa 6.1 series ii's I inherited. I am an audiophile novice so please bear with me.

There's quite a few problems and I guess I'll just list them, I'm not totally sure if it's an amp/receiver problem or a problem with the speakers themselves:

-so one of the polydome's is busted: the dome itself has a small tear and the metal mesh behind it is bent.
-both woofers need re-foaming which I've ordered and should be doing this weekend.
-one woofer seems misaligned, it "scratches" when i push it in. i saw a guide about how to realign the woofer so i will do that when refoaming unless advised not to.

-along with the kappa's I inherited a harmon kardon festival 500 (60wpc) which they're currently hooked up to. the left channel doesn't seem to work unless it's a very loud moment (in a movie for example). otherwise it kind of "crackles". not sure how to describe it better! however it doesnt seem to be a speaker issue because when i swap the speakers the same issue persists on the "new" speaker.

i've unscrewed the individual speakers and everything looks OK (aside from the busted polydome and the woofer issues), but i am a 100% novice so i am taking that with a grain of salt. my electrical experience has been building computers, i have no experience with speakers or magnetic components.

i don't know the best way to proceed aside from refoaming and realigning the woofers and am looking for advice...i will probably need a new amp i suppose? my budget isn't huge (~500 usd) so i am looking at the adcom gfa-555ii which i saw recommended here on AK.

any help is much, much appreciated! i want to bring these babies to life!

Welcome to AK. Great speakers. The polydome issue can be tackled two ways. Send them somewhere to be fixed. (you will want to send both) or buy another used one off of ebay. The latter will most likely be cheaper.