Yamaha CR-2020 Faulty, No sound, SB Mods.

asmd

Yamaha CR-2020 Faulty, No sound, SB Mods

My Yamaha CR-2020 receiver gave up the ghost recently. No sound and the FM tuning meter swung left to about the 50% mark. From the threads here and Merrylanders help, its apparently caused by by the parts that are covered by the service bulletin mods and repairing that should rectify the problem.

Well, ive got my fingers crossed and have ordered the parts including a Weller WLC 100 Soldering Iron to get the job done. I plan to document my adventure (or misadventure) as i have no experience in these things but am willing to learn and documenting it will help me ask for help for troubleshooting as well as help the next fella who needs to go through this. :)

These are the parts ive ordered from digikey:

1) Vishay/Dale RES 33 OHM 5% 3.25W SILICONE WW - http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...54667205842508
2) Vishay/Dale RES 22 OHM 5% 3.25W SILICONE WW - http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...54667205842508
3) STMicroelectronics TIP41C - http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...54667205842508

for the problem that as of right now looks like this.

attachment.php

I would certainly appreciate any and all suggestions.
I think im pretty much armed with all the info i need to get it done.
If theres anything else (apart from change out the lights, which i plan to do), do chime in.

regards,
asmd.

Attachments

• DSC_0571.JPG
    DSC_0571.JPG
    124.7 KB · Views: 856
Last edited:
ok....

pulled her apart this morning.
have removed the board with the transistors and have unsoldered/removed the 2 sd234 transistors.
finally had my first look at the HUGE caps under the board.. and frankly they scare the bejezus out of me.
was advised to swap out the two 50v 1000uf caps on either side of them...