Restoring Pioneer sx-1250

karel.b

I started to restore my Pioneer SX-1250 last year, but my wife became very ill and I did not have time to work on it. Now that she is not too bad, I'd like to finish it.
I have all the necessary info (parts list) from MTF and MATTSD. The only thing that I have missing is any info on the tuner ass'y (AWE-068) semiconductors replacement, specifically the Q7-Q11 transistors (2sc1312 - Q7 and 2sc945 - Q8, 9, 10, 11).
Normally these transistors do'nt need replacement, but who ever worked on this unit before I bought it, bent the hell out of them. When I tried to straighten them, couple of them broke. I was going to replace them with ksc1845fta's or ksd1616agbu's, but being an amateur I thought I better ask for help.
Also the cores in T1 - ATE-029 (FM IF transformer) and T2 - ATE-013 (FM DET transformer) were totally broken. I have some cores from different pioneer board, but there are two sizes, 5mm long and 7mm long;(not aluminum!!), (one in T1 and two in T2.
I would be grateful for any help.
Thanks in advance

Last edited:
q7 = 512-ksc1845...
q8 - q9 512-
q10 = 512-ksc2383...

Transformer answers will take longer, they are in a bottom box in a stack that has to be torn down to get to (I need to make something like a baker's rack for storage, and easier access) while I have a 9am Tuesday deadline to tear this place apart and rebuild for u-verse installation.. will lose internet sometime on Monday...

They are ate-013 for FM detector transformer
sx-750

-----------------------
and ate-029 for the IF transformer.

I will be editing in other model numbers that use the same transformers.

Last edited:
Hi karel,

Hope your wife is feeling better.
How did the switch repairs go?
The sx-1250 & sx-1050 use mostly all of the same parts in the AM/FM tuner assy.