help me save a 400! My dad asked my to sell for parts but... ughg

realblues

I am pretty new to servicing and diagnosing vintage components.

HELP ME SAVE THIS BEAUTIFUL 400!!! If you have an attention span and don't mind my long-windedness read below and PLEASE ADVISE

To be up front, I didn't compare apples to apples here so this isn't the best way to ask for qualitative advice but here goes: my dad asked me to pull a nice, clean 400 apart and part it out because: 1) it broke up at about 5 set flat - this was on a pair of 2-way bookshelf advents (8ohm) with 6" woofer(sorry no model #) and 2) output transformers are reading about 100ohms apart. Changing a transformer to try to match the "good" one at approx 98ohms is a possibility but my dad says that will only uncover more problems down the line.
I replaced most caps and resistors on this unit + Rectifier. It sounds close to a 500c until I get it loud with the Advents. Unfortunately I am stuck testing it on those advents..

Here's the kicker - I tried the same music on the 500c (fully rebuilt) in to Altec (again no model #) but they are huge - over 2' wide and almost 3' high (16ohm). They are 2-way with honeycomb grills... anyway sound was similar (trying to set aside the difference in tone of the speakers) but I can go almost full volume with no problems.

******* I think I am overdriving the Advents with the 400 but the numbers and the scope tell me a different story. All signs point to ONE funky output transformer. BUT, I am pretty new to this. My dad knows his stuff but I am doubting him on this.... but he has a much better understanding (he rebuilds and calibrates tube testers like the triplett 3444 & hickock 539c & Western Electric card-o-matic as well as it's hickock counterpart)

I WANT to save this unit from death and have a transformer on eBay I'm watching (if only I could get a matched pair??).