Yamaha CR 640 Volume Pot

mphmtn

Hello,

I have recently picked up a Yamaha CR 640 in great cosmetic shape for $60. Initially, turning the volume control put a lot of static into the right channel, which was intermittently working. One application of DeOxit to all of the pots cleared up the problem, and the receiver sounds gorgeous. About two days later, I am noticing a little static returning when adjusting the volume.

Three quick questions:
Is this to be expected, and might another round of DeOxit solve this?
Is it time to replace the volume pot?

If I need to replace the pot, I'm not entirely sure what to use. I consulted the parts list in the service manual which (I think) listed the part as "VR602 volume 20 KB", part #HC 31 06 80. Googling these brought me no joy, nor did my first attempt at searching these forums.

I'm not a pro or even a seasoned amateur at audio repairs, but I've fixed a few solder joints and replaced a volume pot on another amp of mine, so I imagine that I can succeed , if needed, as long as I can find a suitable replacement part.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Mike

PS - I'm not near my gear at the moment, so I wouldn't be able to respond to some questions until tonight or tomorrow.

First try another few rounds of Deox-it on the volume pot. To acquire the correct potentiometer your probably going to need a parts unit part. Look up the part # for a CR-820 volume control in a service manual. Someone is selling one on the bay.
Search Yamaha parts ( under consumer electronics ) on ebay.

Last edited: