Technics SA-700

scottonnob

Scott Palmer
Howdy — I have a Technics SA-700 that I've been using as a pre-amp for several years. I was simply running new ungraded interconnects between the pre and the B&K amp, only now the SA powers up but the relay never clicks and there is no sound or signal, either from the unit as a pre or as a receiver (with jumpers installed). No sound to headphones. No blown fuses, inside or out. But, as a I said, the relay never clicks. All front panel lights and indicators work, the unit just won't produce any sound. Any thoughts, or diagnosis suggestions? I have a scope, a multi-meter, and the schematics. But with the unit completely dead and no blown fuses, I'm not sure what to check next. Thanks.

If speaker relay isn't clicking I would check dc offset at the relay. It's possible there's now to much dc at the speakers. If dc offset is ok then see if you have power to the relay coil.

Edit: I'm not sure if that would affect the pre amp section though. Someone with more knowledge will chime in.

No sound from from preamp and no relay click. I think one thing I would do is check all fuses with an ohm meter if you haven't done so.

Last edited:
You could try to trace the signal (aux or tuner) and see where it stops. Also I would check the voltages as indicated in the service manual, especially those in the power supply.

I can't imagine how both issues could be related, unless there is a blown transistor in the pre-amp section, but then still it is quite unlikely that this happens at both channels at the same time.

In many relay protected amps, what drives the relay also drives a muting circuit somewhere between the preamp and power amp.

If it is muting the preamp I would bet on either a hard fault in the protection or an actul outut stage fault causing high DC. If it was just power to the relay itself or the relay driver transistor it would likely still have preamp output.