How do y'all stay warm over these winter months...?

Old1625

(Moderators: I have long ago embraced that perhaps I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer, so it is possible that this posting is misplaced. Please feel free to move it wherever you feel you must, and at least let me know where it went. I'll understand.... :eek:)

I have been using old "king" coal for about 30 years. At first when my family came to this old farmhouse it took between 12 and 16 cord of wood to heat it a season. There was an old coal furnace in the cellar that we burned wood in--simply because the old man decided it wasn't in any condition for anything as hot as the coal fire it was intended to have in its belly.

I begged to differ, and I was alpha enough that eventually things shaped up that I would assume all responsibility. And I did. I started advertising that I would remove unwanted chestnut coal from cellars. There were many unwanted caches of coal. Having chopped wood for enough years of my life I was not one to refuse free fuel. I used an ancient Dodge truck to haul home bummed coal from all over. For many years. I did have to start being legit, and buy coal like the rest of society eventually.

I tended that furnace--merely an old and very large pot-bellied stove encased in a metal can, and originally gravity feed and later blower fed heater. This behemoth ran off of chestnut or "nut" coal--Penn's best anthracite--and needed to be shaken down, banked, shoveled out, swept of fly-ash, etc--which I did for darn near three decades..

Enter my coal dealer, who has been keeping me in coal and selling it to me far cheaper than any of the competitors for many years. Now his prices are starting to get obnoxious, but he's doing the best he can under the circumstances of soaring operating costs.

The dealer had been trying to get old tight-pockets here (me) to upgrade from this mid 19th century monster to something newer.