The Schiit stack. Tomorrow's legend or forgotten pile of Schiit?

barfod

I can't resist playing with their name. I can't help but wonder if my pieces of Schiit will become legends in time.

On a more serious note, I just ordered a Schiit stack which consists of a Schiit DAC and a Schiit headphone amp. For $198 plus $12.24 shipping I will be receiving a Schiit Modi DAC and their Schiit Magni headphone amp. This is made in USA equipment! This is a test to see just what difference a dedicated DAC can make to my different stereo setups. Based upon reviews I have been reading, the Schiit stack appears to be a really well thought out modular approach to relatively inexpensive digital solution providing good value and build quality. If I like results their entry level DAC, perhaps I'll consider taking one of their slightly more expensive Schiits (ie. Bitfrost).

As I am new to the concept of a DAC in my stereo, and have no examples available as to what I can expect, I am relying on a general consensus of reviewers to guide me. Made in USA is certainly an inducement as well.

I have been pleased so far with the results of my man cave stereo, as I have been buying non-working old equipment and attempting to restore it to working condition and melding it with stuff I had lying around. The only new purchase I have made so far has been a pair of Monitor Audio Bronze BX2 speakers, and I have been through several Yamaha receivers and integrated amps to drive them, settling in on a Yamaha A-550 integrated amp that had some bad caps, dirty switches and a few burned out lights. I really like the sound so far but still... I want more!