Building speakers from KLH Model 6 Crossovers

drayguy

Hi all!

I'm new here. I'm writing because I recently acquired a pair of vintage KLH Model 6 crossovers in which appears to be pristine condition. I'm wondering if it is worth attempting to salvage them and build a pair of functional speakers using them if they are in good working condition. I am not sure as how to test said crossovers, but I would imagine that someone here could enlighten me. I am a relative novice as far as speaker building is concerned, I have only constructed a pair of studio monitors for my own personal use. Thanks for the help. :banana:

Honestly I wouldn't bother unless you had need to replace a bad xover in another six. The magic of the KLH6 is not in the x-overs. And they are designed specifically for the combination of drivers in the cabinet. If you do use them at all you'll want to replace the electrolytic capacitors. IIRC, I think there's two per side.

Testing them is easy enough, just hook them up. I guess if I had them and wanted to use them I would replicate the six to what degree possible..

Honestly I wouldn't bother unless you had need to replace a bad xover in another six. The magic of the KLH6 is not in the x-overs. And they are designed specifically for the combination of drivers in the cabinet. If you do use them at all you'll want to replace the electrolytic capacitors. IIRC, I think there's two per side.

Testing them is easy enough, just hook them up. I guess if I had them and wanted to use them I would replicate the six to what degree possible..
Thanks. Would it be worth rebuilding them if could come across the OG drivers from the sixes on eBay? I see a couple listed right now.

Thanks. Would it be worth rebuilding them if could come across the OG drivers from the sixes on eBay? I see a couple listed right now.