ADS L1090 Value?

aloutah

I recently acquired a pair of ADS L1090's. They are in very nice condition. They are the black finish. I am new to ADS, this is my first pair, and was curious what they originally sold for and what a current value might be? I have checked craiglook, audigon and eBay completed listings, but haven't really found much info. Are these rare speakers or just haven't come up for sale much recently?

I was eying a set of L1090's local to me for $200, which seemed like a very reasonable price based on what I'd learned. But unfortunately I was too slow on the draw. I'd read up a bit on ADS speakers and a few AK'ers have given a thumbs up to the L1090. Where'd you get yours from?

The 1090 is supposedly the sweet spot of that ADS line. Depending on color and whether it is a series 1 or 2 prices vary from $200-450. As with everything nice condition of cabinets, grills (no bends, rust, etc) and clean drivers push up the price. If you have some nice gear to use those with I suspect you will never sell them.

I got them for an estate sale. It was an old lady who obviously hadnt used them much. Maybe they were her husbands or something, anyway, they even had the little protector caps on one speaker still. The drivers all do have some lint stuck on them though, and one tweeter is slightly wrinkled. They are the black finish. They are L1090 not the L1090-2. Although, they are 8ohm, which I read somehwere meant they were later production. The first l1090's being 4 or 6 ohm. I have just started to read up on them, so total ADS newbie here. the grills are slightly bent, but no rust. They sound great. Im using my yamaha mx-1000u.

Right, you are right Dave. I have to say that except the Vandy 2c not much comes close to my ADS. At a risk to be laughed at I would say I even like mine (the 1530 and the 910) better than my Thiel cs 3.5...