Best moving coil cartridge for less than $200

pvh1987

I recently bought a Rega P1 turntable (actually an Argon TT-1 but it is a copy of the P1) with an Ortofon OM5E moving magnet cartridge. It sounds like it has some problems tracking the inner grooves correctly -- I can hear some distortion in the higher frequencies that I don't hear when playing the outer grooves. Also, on some newer audiophile 180 g LP's I've noticed some distortion in the outer grooves as well.

So, I'm looking for a new cartridge. I am new in the turntable field so I have little idea what to look for. I asked some questions in a hifi store and he said that I should go for a moving coil pickup to get more detail and tighter bass.

I listen to hard rock but sometimes I like listening to normal rock and even pop now and then, if that's important when buying a new cartridge.

Where I live it seems like the only moving coil cartridge I can get for a relatively low price is the Denon DL-110 and Denon DL-160 which both is high output moving coil cartridges. Please comment on those if you know them but any ideas is welcome.

I would like to know which cheaper moving coil pickup you will recommend that tracks good, sound clear and tight -- also in the inner grooves -- for about $200 or less. It doesn't need to be a high output pickup because I have a NAD PP2 Phono Preamplifier that does both MM and MC.

Any recommendations and ideas are welcome :)

Hi there and welcome to AK! This is the best place to be if you're really getting into turntables, the people here are wonderful.