What to do with a broken Yamaha CR-1040?

Artie

Hi folks. Wanted to get your thoughts/ideas on what to do with my old Yamaha CR-1040 reciever. Its in excellent condition, but the output modules are blown and Yamaha doesn't supply them any longer. I imagine they're basically STK modules but I don't have a cross reference.

This unit seems too nice to trash, but then again, is worthless as it sits. What would you do with it?

Btw - I'm an electronics tech with over 35 years experience . . . but I still need parts. :worried:

Thanks all.
Artie

Like you I have been there too many times and continue to be there even now. Who knows maybe one day you will find the right parts at the right price. Have you tried Consilodated Electronics, Inc and spoken with Steve he has been a life saver for me.

If it is not blowing fuses, use it for a tuner or if it has preamp outputs use it as a tuner/preamp and find a nice power amp. If a receiver is going to crap out I always prefer it be the power amp. If all else fails donate it to Merrylander and he'll hold it for parts for 1 of his treasures he tenderly retores and then sells at what must be a profit of -$1.00 but he makes it up in volume. I think is was actually desigining a module replacement for one of the STKs but maybe I'm wrong here.

I believe the output is STK0080II, which you can still get. It is the driver IC that is unobtanium.