Yamaha RX-A1040 - Bi-Amp Question(s)

yzzaj

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Looking to see if anyone can answer my question(s). I've looked thru the manual, and haven't found the answer (although I could have missed it). I truly believe in "RTFM". I was a software controls engineer earlier in life, and have a decent understanding of controls and a basic understanding of electrical engineering.

Just got a brand new Yamaha RX-A1040 for Christmas. It replaces a Sony STR-DE935 that didn't have HDMI capability.

Also got a pair of Klipsch RB-61 II's, and a pair of Klipsch R-15M's with it. Since it's a small space, right now they seem to suffice.

I am using the Yamaha in my study/office (10'x12' room). Also have three turntables connected to it, along with a BluRay player, cable TV, and other equipment.

The Yamaha so far (a couple of weeks) is very nice - lots of nice features, good web access, etc. Power-wise, it's somewhat overkill given the small room size, but I just wanted all the inputs and features, and AVR's with those features also come with that type of power.

The Yamaha has a set of speaker terminals on the back that are labeled as [Extra Sp] and that are software selectable as:

Zone 2
Front Presence
Bi-Amp

Currently I have the RB-61 II's connected to the "Front" terminals, and the R-15M's connected to the "Extra Sp" terminals.

The "Extra SP" connection is software configurable to run as "Zone 2", "Front Presence", or "Bi-Amp". I'm not interested in running in the "Zone 2" mode, since it has a separate volume.

Question is:

When selecting "Bi-Amp", is the Yamaha sending the exact same signal to the "Extra Sp" terminals, as it is sending to the "Front" terminals?

Or is it sending a high frequency signal to one (Bi-Amp), and a low frequency signal to the other (Front) {or vice versa}.