New Amplifier Advice

Tee-Rock

Hi everyone! I'm new to audiokarma, and also to HiFi outside of my experience growing up with my Father's system. (Pioneer SX-850, Pioneer HPM 60, Sony PS4300 TT with Shure V15 Type IV cartridge)

I am living in Malaysia where HiFi is quite expensive.

My Current system setup is as follows:

Soundstage StageOne hybrid amplifier 35W/channel -- Chinese custom build for a distributor in KL, no phono.

Mission MV6 floor standers (8ohm, 89 db). Nothing on AK about these, though I am happy with them so far. What i could afford at time.

Audio Technica AT120USB -- terrible pre-amp but bought for versatility and ease of upgrade. I plan to upgrade the cartridge to a AT440mla and bypass the pre-amp.

Speaker Cables are MIT 16/2 banana plugs (does this matter?)

Currently my set-up has two major issues (that i am aware of and I plan on fixing in the near future).

1 - i need to upgrade my phono cartridge and bypass the aweful pre-amp in my AT-120USB TT.

2. I need to purchase a new amplifier as i am not satisfied with my Soundstage StageOne. Lows and mids are nice, but it has issues. It has quite harsh highs as soon as i pump the volume at or past 50% (which is often). It also does not reproduce treble heavy music very well. (I listen to everything not limited to: classic country, rockabilly, hip-hop, funk, punk, and even metal, so this is a major issue to me)

I have family coming in December from Canada and hope to have them bring the new AT cartridge and hopefully a new amplifier or pre-amp/amp combo.

I want to stay away from digital amps as I use my TT a lot. I also would love to have a quality tube amp, but i think it is out of my price range at the moment. I used to have a Chinese tube when i lived in China but i was unable to move it with me when i left. The sound was nice but it struggled powering my speakers.
http://www.china-hifi-audio.com/en/...il3-el34-4-tube-integrated-amp-2014ver-p-1251