kenwood KR-V106R OR KR-V9030

carls06

Hello, Newbie here.. Ive always loved the older kenwoods.. Friend let me borrow a KR-V8040, and I decided to get back in the game.. My last oldest one i had ,, was from around ?? 1993..

Now Im looking at either a KR-V106R ,[ 1989 ? ] or KR-V9030 [ 1991 ? ]
Wanted advice on which one is better choice.. A friend of mine said ,deff the
KR-V106R.. - Thoughts guys ???.. I figured i go with the KR-V9030, as higher RMS.... But looking for better thoughts on this since im not up much on which receiver is better... :scratch2:
P.S. - I have a kenwood VR-209 [ NEW IN 1998 ] thats in the closet. That ,, well.. YUK. :thumbsdn: Bought it new, in 1999 , Still is like new...

Hope i posted where i suppose to.. Thanks

The difference in power between the 2 is not significant enough for you to notice. Both the units you listed are nice. I would take the 9030 as it is the newest of the 2.

The difference in power between the 2 is not significant enough for you to notice. Both the units you listed are nice. I would take the 9030 as it is the newest of the 2.

Thanks... Most likely will go with the KR-V9030.. Seems 30 watt more would be noticable.. enough.. mmm.. -
Friend aimed for the KR-V106R, as its metal face ??? and equil built in.. mmmmm..But i saw pic's on line, and it looks like it has NO Center channel speaker hook up.. ??????????????.. But i most likely wouldnt use the surround..
Any idea's if it does have center channel output ????

I believe you are correct that there is no center channel on the 106R. Never let wpc make an amp decision for you. You would need a 3db increase in loudness in order to hear even a slight difference. In order to get that 3db you need to double the power so if you are running 100 wpc you would need 200 wpc to just barely hear a difference. You unless you had an spl meter you would never be able to tell the difference between the 106R and 9030.