Yamaha NS-690 mkI NICE!

Sjoperd

So I stumbled upon a set of ns-690 mkI today... 65 euro. Near mint. and one stuck woofer.

They are much better than my b&w dm4 speakers! But they seem to go a bit lower also... putting out to much lower frequenties in some music. I'm thinking that my room is to small :(

I have found some info about fixing the stuck woofer. I could try it but i'm afraid that i'll break it. And I don't think i'll ever have a change of grabbing a pair of these again :S (I haven't ever seen a ns690 for sale in the netherlands before)

I'm going to ask tomorrow what it will cost to fix it at the local HIFI shop. But in the meantime, i'm curious if playing with one stuck woofer is in anyway dangerous to my amp or left over woofer :S

The amp that i'm using is a yamaha ca-810. I recapped it myself but I have no other experience besides recapping in fixing vintage audio.

Besides sharing this information. I want to thank yamaha for being awesome, and audiokarma for past topics that have helped me and will help me in the future!

Congratulations on the speakers! :music:

If you don't get sufficient responses on fixing it, ask the moderator to move this thread to the speaker forum.

They do indeed have very nice accurate, tight bass.

I would not play the speaker with the stuck woofer... :nono: As for fixing it... no idea.

Thanks for the helpfull suggestions all.

I went to the shop but the repair guy insisted that I would do it myself because other options are to expensive. So I'm tempted to try this myself.

As for the speakers, i'm still very surprised how well preserved they are. I even got the now yellowish manual with it.

Crazy stuff... while my 690's are away for woofer repair I stumbled upon a set of NS-1000 in a barn... 1 tweeter out. 100 euro's so I took them.