Yamaha M-60 and C-60 score on CL

AndySTL

Tonight I am picking up a M-60 and C-60 from a CL ad. The seller says amp has some static. The price is too good to pass up even if it needs a little TLC.

I've done a search on here and have read most of the related threads but I still have a few questions. One thing to keep in mind it that I am a complete novice. I don't really know how to make any repairs and I don't own any testing devices or even a soldering gun. But I'm interested in learning more about these things. When I get these home I will crack them open and take some pics so I can post them here.

What are the typical symptoms of the DSBG? Could static output be one of them?

Do most people find that these amps need more than just removal of the DSBG? How would I identify other things that need repair? Cap replacement etc...

What kind of symptoms should I look for on the C-60?

Thanks in advance! I'm looking forward to this little project!

Tonight I am picking up a M-60 and C-60 from a CL ad. The seller says amp has some static. The price is too good to pass up even if it needs a little TLC.

I've done a search on here and have read most of the related threads but I still have a few questions. One thing to keep in mind it that I am a complete novice. I don't really know how to make any repairs and I don't own any testing devices or even a soldering gun. But I'm interested in learning more about these things. When I get these home I will crack them open and take some pics so I can post them here.

What are the typical symptoms of the DSBG? Could static output be one of them?

Do most people find that these amps need more than just removal of the DSBG? How would I identify other things that need repair? Cap replacement etc...

What kind of symptoms should I look for on the C-60?

Thanks in advance! I'm looking forward to this little project!

Might just be some dirty controls.. I guarantee the M-60 has some glue issues.