New (Used) Yamaha M85 owner! Now What?

-MK-

Hi, I'm -MK-, and I'm out of my league. I just got back from a guy's house who has audio equipment ALL OVER the place. I heard good things about this amp and I picked it up for $380, talking him down from $450. I know these are likely found for cheaper, but he knows eBay and knows what he COULD sell it for, so I thought did the best I could. Maybe I got burned...anyhow...

...I'm new to the dedicated audio game. I'm wanting to build a manly stereo to offset the psychological effects of now knowing I have a 3rd kid on the way (2 under 4 right now). I've got plans for a nice system for CD/Vinyl listening sessions, but also want something versatile enough to add more speakers, plug in an iPod and crank up for a house party on it.

So...I have this M85 and really don't know what to do next. Any help would be great. The only "speakers" I have to are part of a HTiB in the living room, so I need literally everything else. Your speaker recommendations, suggestions of other components to pair with this amp, things I should understand about this amp before I blow something up, etc. are MOST WELCOME! Thanks in advance!!!

Here are some pics:

3n43k73p25Z45W35R0b5o95004d3f87811b81.jpg
[/URL]
3n53p33o75Y45Z05P0b5of92f7ad1d7241bc3.jpg

Last edited:
Nice amp and decent price if it is healthy. Do a search on DC offset and get a voltage meter and make sure the amp is operating per spec.

Then pick up a nice C-85 pre and you have a great combination. The C-85 has a great phono stage.

The M-85 will drive about any speaker out there so get what you can afford.

If you want it to live long you may not want to operate it in class A for long periods of time.

Welcome and enjoy.

You're right, your in over your head. Just send me your amp and forget you were ever here. :smoke: