KR6160 adjustments

ducati2

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I am still a rookie, so bear with me . . I recently acquired 10 Kenwood KR6160 receivers in various state of condition. I have built something of a list of caps and have been rebuilding them, but have not yet truly adjusted the main power, the dc offset or the bias.

I have rebuilt 6-7 marantz 2270s and have done these adjustments with great success, but can not seem to find out where to adjust for this kr6160 unit. I have searched for several weeks online and am now hoping someone here will have an answer. A photo of which pot to turn for what would be great.

I found one set of kenwood instructions that refers to 'common',,, do they mean the main power or dc offset or what? again I am a rookie that is hooked on playing with these old units and need all the guideance I can get. thanks

In the KR-6160 there are two trim pots on the power amp board. They are symmetrical clipping adjustment pots, VRe1 for the left channel, and VRe2 for the right channel. If you don't have a scope you can adjust for 50% of the positive supply voltage (around 86V) at the + side of the output capacitor (around 43V).

There is no bias adjustment. The bias current can be anything between 5 and 100mA according to the schematic.

This seems way different than the marantz procedure. No bias adjustment I understand. But power is set w one pot on the marantz, so on the kenwood I set both sides at half? Ok w that I guess.

Now, what about DC offset? Reason I am tackling this is I am trying to clear up one channel w distortion and clipping after a rebuild. I measured mv at the speaker terminals w speaker switch set to off and get about .01mv. Then I tried it w switch set to spkr set A and the meter was all over the place.