Pioneer sa-9800 with slight mains hum?

pioneer-nut

Hi there - noob here so please be gentle :D

I have a problem with my sa9800 - owned for 29 years never missed a beat but rarely us3d never driven hard by any means.

not used her for about 2 maybe 3 weeks and decided to listen to some tunes last night when i notice a faint mains hum on both channels.

things i have checked out so far, not apparent with pre power jumpers removed, even with volume on high or max still the same but no indication of anything on the readout everything else works as it should just a noticable hum with headphones no bad with speakers but im just one of those unfortunate people that when i notice it i cant ignore it until its gone!!!
changed the power cable changed plug sockets even took the amp to a friends with the same result.

also i noticed with no source selected obviously with vol on high if i twist the bass knob to max its like i can hear it being changed lol crazy but thats the case, also noticed one of the transformers seems a little more buzzy but so minor only because i know the amp so well nobody else would ever notice.

im ok with taking the cover off and i have a DMM but not massive on electronics but please any help would be fantastic.

many thanks oh im from the uk too.

hi again sorry dont mean to bump this post rather an update:

seems the hum changes slighty when playing with the treble bass and tone switch
as well as the mode switch could be nothing but thorght id mention it :thmbsp:
thanks

Mostly the gurus help troubleshoot these types of problems and they keep late hours. You can, in the mean time, search previous posts concerning this hum issue by google'ing for example "Hum in my pioneer: Audiokarma". This will produce links to hum problems others experienced. The exercise will warm you up to the possible procedures required to fix this very nice set.