the BOSE 501-II's

1967rs

I'm torn about what to do with these speakers. I've been dragging them around with me for over 2 decades, they're like family. But now one speaker "pops" with any volume, there is some veneer missing on both of them, and I thought they've sounded a little dull for the last few years. Dull to the point of needing to use an EQ to get any high end sparkle. These things weigh a ton and I think it would be a shame to just toss them into a dumpster after all these years.

I've thought about opening these things up, ditching all the original electronics in favor of new, putting in new stuffing and maybe getting a sound I like. The grills can stay original or go I guess it just depends on how easy they come off. And the veneer I can fix, anything wood related I can do. It’s just that I’ve been toying with the idea of building my own speakers and why spend the money and time on the 501’s…

Alright, I’m just a big fat wus! I don’t want these taking up space sounding and looking as bad as they do but I don’t want to toss them either. WOULD SOMEBODY PLEASE MAKE A DECISION FOR ME!

vic

Fix 'em up or sell 'em, there's some on ebay right now w/bin of 100-400 bucks. So no since in throwing them away.

Until I can find the time to work on mine (x'over's need work) they are pulling end table duty in the cave. :smoke:

Attachments

• 08160001 (Medium).JPG
    08160001 (Medium).JPG
    55.4 KB · Views: 211
  • 08160002 (Medium).JPG
    08160002 (Medium).JPG
    75.9 KB · Views: 182
I have similar dilemma. A very nice set of 501's Series II, they have a non- fatiguing but a dull unenergetic sound, I have a few more pair of different speakers around the house that sound much better than these. Personally I won't bother putting work into these to try and improve them, I will sell them off. These are attractive speakers, but sound muffled like they're covered by a wet blanket, and make superb endtables.