Homemade FM Antenna

radiation8

Marco Polo!
Hello, just thought Id share an antenna I made, that you guys might could use
if you dont have room/the ability to put up a yagi like me.

My main hometheater kenwood has a dipole just good enough to get a few stations, but my Fisher 170 sits on a shelf next to my computer, and I wanted it to be my DX'er.

Cost ranges between $5-10 depending on what you have, or brand you buy.

Its a 2 wavelength (using the top of the band 108mhz 984/108=9.1x2 for gain, you can tweek it to any mhz on the band) Helical Loop, I got a solid pine peice of wood from homedepot, and cut it to 10in wide and 2 and a half foot tall, and half an inch in depth. Since mine is outside most of the time, I used some woodstain/water sealant, this is optional.

And well the picture explains most of it I hope, Im not a graphic artist so sorry for the crappy drawing. Took 18.2ft of 22ga wire and Wraped it in a Helical around the wood, and came back down, used a Coax TV spliter and Soldered one end of the wire inside one Side, and screwed down the other end of the wire to the grounding screw, then I hot glued some parts for the wire so it would hold.

Now Im using 25ft of Coax, with a 300ohm to 75ohm Transformer on the back of my Fisher, things may vary depending on your radio, but it will work if your radio has a Typical F connector.

SO FAR it has been great, I can pick up every local station and have been able to DX 4 stations, one being 206miles away, in Dallas Texas 106.1 Kiss Fm from here in OKC, that was really mostly E skip, but never the less, this is a killer antenna.

Last edited:
Interesting..I think I understand the sketch.

Wonder how it compares to other designs, such as a full wavelength square loop? I may have to try this out, using 20 feet length for the lower FM frequencies.

A question and an observation:

Do you make two wraps, one going up and one coming down, or do you wrap the wire up and send a lead straight down?