Nakamichi BX-1 score!! Info wanted

wal66666

Hi guys im new to the Tape forum mostly because I have never had an intrest in cassette... Until now

I was in a local junk shop that I havent been to foe a long time, browsing around his piles of junk I found a nakamichi BX-1 in mint condition,

How much I asked, $50 he said. OK put that in my maby pile.

I dont know anything about value of any tape gear but I bought it anyway.
The first thing I noticed was how smootly it operated no clunks or clicks like other cheap decks I have had and after hearing it I am sure I done the right thing.

So my question is, Are these well regarded?

Hi
Welcome to the world of tapes
In my opinion Nakamichi is the most beatifull machines in the whole world
Very reliable, soft mechanism, and a very warm and fantastic sound
I have almost 35 decks (Pioneer, Technics, Teac, etc) 4 of them are Nakamichi, and every time i found another i buy it for shure !!!
Here in Argentina is so hard to find Nakamichi but i keep on looking !!!!!
Enjoy it !!!
Manuel

Namagichi, Nakahoochie, whatever they're called are absolute junk. Why would you even share the same air it's stored in? That Pawn shop dealer had you.

Look, I feel sorry for you. I'll send you a box with a prepaid shipping to me. I'll get rid of it for you. :smoke:

There are several sites dedicated to Nak equipment. And here there is NakDoc (I think I got that right). You might PM him.

And I have received good information from Fred Longworth here. He has a repair business and is knowledgeable of these machines too. His name is his moniker.

wal666, for the best sound, clean and keep clean the tape heads using 91% iopropyl alcohol on q-tips.
it also can't hurt to get a tape demagnetizer and demagnetize the heads every once in a while.

wal666, for the best sound, clean and keep clean the tape heads using 91% iopropyl alcohol on q-tips.
it also can't hurt to get a tape demagnetizer and demagnetize the heads every once in a while.

Good advice!