Turntable advice

Dammo

Hi All,

I've been browsing this site for a couple of months now picking up advice on budget turntables and am finally in a position to buy one. After perusing craigslist and shooting off a couple of emails I have these possible choices:

Technics SL-1700: $75
Technics SL-1200 MK2: $150
Technics SL-Q3: $25
Harman Kardon T-35C: $65
Dual CS-621: $40
Kenwood KD-2055: $75

My budget just about pushes up to $150, but would love to save some cash. I am not an audiophile but I would like to say I can tell the difference between good and bad quality! This would be my first turntable and would be hooked up to an Onkyo receiver and Polk speakers.

Please let me know which of these would best fit my needs, and whether the SL-1200 really would be worth the extra cash.

Thanks!

Richard

My first instint would be the dual, they are usually very nice turntables, and $40 seems like a good deal. Technics is somewhat well liked as well, and there are several good kenwood models out there. I have never heard of a harmon-kardon turntable, though...

I would say dual, bu the most important thing is if it works, for a first table kind of deal, get a working table with good dependability...you won't get much enjoyment out of it if all you do is work on it.

maybe another member has more expieriance with these turntables and has better advice?

Good luck, vinyl is a fun thing to get into:thmbsp:

Oh: seeing as this is your first post, welcome.

Last edited:
I bought a Harman Kardon T-20 for my son. It's a great table. Well built, simple, nice arm. If I could find a T35 for $65, I'd buy it.

I have several Duals, and I'd take the HK T35C before the CS-621.

Leaves you money for a new stylus or cart. The HK has a light arm, so likes a higher compliance stylus.

In that group, I'd take the SL-1700. Do you know what cartridges they all have?

They may need a new one, so keep that in mind when buying used. an entry level cart will run you 25.00 to 60.00