Question about Fault Finding with a signal & CRO

50mm

snacks
Hi, I'm new to this and trying to bring a Kenwood KR-9400 back to life. (Progress thread).

I have a nice scope (Tek 465), a function generator, an adjustable bench power supply, a couple of multimeters, and a dummy load.

Here's my question… It seems to me that it should be possible to run a signal into a board (like the amp board under test in the aforementioned thread), then, using the schematic and scope, trace the signal through the circuit to identify problem components. Right or wrong?

It seems that this would be a faster and easier method than having to desolder diode leads and pull transistors, etc. and meter them individually.

Any knowledgeable techs want to set me straight? Links to tutorials on using a signal & scope to find faults would be fantastic (believe me, I've looked - my electronics bookmarks have grown exponentially, but I'm not getting much relevance).

Thanks in advance.

Yes and no. Signal tracing with a scope can often zero in on the defective stage of an amplifier chain, but in multi-stage global feedback circuits like an SS power amp, the whole circuit is brought to its knees by a defect in any one stage. In that case, you're better off troubleshooting with DC voltage measurements and component testing or substitution.

Although it's "fun" to use test equipment, don't get lost in it.

I have a little MP3 player I use as a source on the bench. Music is often better for finding common audio problems. A strong single tone from a FG can mask scratchy controls for example.

When I have no output, I look for obvious visual problems. Remember the FIRST step in ANY troubleshooting is a thorough visual inspection! Fuses fall in this step.