Audiokarma.org
Audiokarma Featured Sponsor

Go Back   AudioKarma.org Home Audio Stereo Discussion Forums > McIntosh Audio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 03-07-2012, 10:10 AM
AK Member

Recapping/Updating a C26

I've got a c26 preamp that I use along with a rebuilt Dynaco ST-70, a Sansui tuner, and a couple of turntables in the basement studio ( Sonny #3, 17 is a keyboard player, and down there are a Hammond M3, Leslie, drum kit ( Boy #4)). I've learned to do these things myself over the last couple of years, without spilling too much blood....The Dynaco has a new VTA driver board, upgraded power caps, running Genelex Gold Lion KT-66s. The Hammond and Leslie 145 have been gone through, with some updates as well. My point here is that I've some experience bringing some old, barely working stuff back to life, but I'm no electrical engineer or circuit designer. I enjoy the challenge of making these devices sound better, and learning some fun skills too.
Note: This post cut off and timed out before I finished, so I'll go back in and re-create again......

The C26 works fine. , but it was built between '68 and '77.
I have limited time, resources, but would like to attack areas that will give me most bang for the buck.
Electrolytics? coupling caps? where should I spend my energy and $, since I will not be replacing 100% of the caps on this foray.

Last edited by 4MarkNY; 03-07-2012 at 10:56 AM.
Old 03-07-2012, 11:02 AM
That high voltage buzz

Suggested approach:

- Rebuild power supply - electrolytic caps, etc, then confirm it is developing regulated voltages to spec.

- Next, clean all the controls but you've already discovered how that helps.

- Then move on to coupling caps. I'd suggest you start with the line stage first and work backwards from the output. Priorities for replacement are: 1) electrolytics, 2) any caps directly in the audio chain, then 3) film caps in the feedback loops.