Pioneer RT 1020L questions

Rey1

Hello everyone,

Yesterday I scored a Pioneer RT1020L deck from a local thrift. Everything seems to work (havent tested record yet) and it produces good sound on playback. I need to get into the guts and oil the motors and lube the parts. The service manual does not say anything about this. Can anyone tell me if there are oil ports on the motors (if so, where)? also, I assume that I just clean and relube anyplace with evidence of old grease. I have done this before to an old Akai and my Teac 2340, so I am not a complete novice.

Unfortunately, there is about a 3mm wide area of wear on the record and play heads. i checked this in the store but the lighting was poor and my vision is not what it used to be, so I didn't see it. There are no visible gaps, the wear is centered on each head, and the deck sounds good. I don't use my rtr decks too often, so I'm hoping to get a few years out of this before the heads wear out. Any thoughts?

I also have a 1020L in addition to a 1011L. I'm sure those more knowledgeable will correct me if I'm mistaken but as far as I know, only the capstan bearing and pinch roller shaft need to be oiled on these machines. I believe the motor bearings are permanently lubricated.

My 1011L also has some significant head wear but it still sounds good to my ears and pretty much identical to the 1020L. I suppose that relapping may be an option but if it sounds good to you, then I'd just sit back and enjoy.

I have also had to oil the bearing in the Guide Roller on the left side on my 1020L. Mine got to squealing once in a while and took a bit to trace it to the guide roller.

Charles

The reason there is no mention of oiling motors and lubing parts in the manual is that chances are it doesn't need it. Only if you get squeaks, nosie, and/or sluggish mechanical operation should you consider applying lubricants.