TD15M + BMS 4550 + QSC waveguide = az's "Spendy-Wave" build

audiozaz

rtfm!? - tl;dr
Design goals:

To build a speaker that can play beautifully and kick some ass when asked to.

To build a sensitive speaker that can accomodate high power SS amps as well as low power tube amps with higher output impedance and sound good in both small and large rooms.

To build a speaker I won't be likely to want to improve upon for many years.

Background:

I've been doing some DIY speaker stuff for a few years now and really enjoy the results of my own labor. It's much more rewarding to me than buying commercial speakers, as good as they can be. Reading up a lot on diverse aspects of speaker building as well as doing a lot of, well, doing is a good way to learn about it and is quite fun. I've had the Econo-Wave project floating somewhere in the back of my brain ever since I joined AK.

I really enjoy pro drivers, as I've been playing with some in the last year or so. Instead of taking baby steps up the quality ladder, I've decided to go with an all-out build and get something really good, now. This is definitely not econo (from my perspective), which is why I dubbed these "Spendy-Waves".

The drivers:

The BMS 4550, I already own and was bought in advance for such a build. I've toyed with it in on some small Smith horns I built, as well as the Transylvania Power Company "The Tube". It's a very good compression driver IMO. A definite step up from D220Ti, which is quite good itself.

As for a woofer, I hesitated for a while between GPA 416-8C and Acoustic Elegance Lambda TD15M. They are similarly priced and both fit most other requirements for this project. I ended-up picking TD15M, mostly based on AK members who have glowing opinions of it. Don't worry, I won't pin it on you guys if I end-up hating it. ;)