Audiokarma.org
Audiokarma Featured Sponsor

Go Back   AudioKarma.org Home Audio Stereo Discussion Forums > Vintage Solid State


We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2012, 08:32 PM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
Realistic SA-100B Pre-Amp (maybe) Problems

Hello all,
I am setting up a desk nearfield system. I got some Mimimus 7s, and I picked up an SA-100B to drive them. The SA-100B is not working. It has two ins, an RIAA phono, and a regular one labelled "Tuner". I can get sound when I play through the RIAA in, but the Tuner in is silent, I just get a bit of static. Before playing anything, I cleaned all ins/outs and pots with deoxit. The switches are a bit harder to get to, so I didn't clean them. Given that I can get sound from the phone, and not the Tuner in, I'm assuming the issue is somewhere either in the preamp or the switch (certainly hoping for the switch). Anyone have a service manual or schematic for the SA-100B, there is none on either the AudioKarma Database, nor on Hi-Fi Engine. Any help would be appreciated. I'm finishing up graduate school over the next two weeks, so this may be a bit of a backburner type of thing until then, but I would love any input I can find.

I did notice, that when I played the audio through the Phono in, that it was pretty quiet, I'm wondering if the pre isn't working, and I was just hearing the transformers amplify the signal.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2012, 11:11 PM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
Okay, update time. Turns out the switch was just oxidized, some deoxit cured that. As I did that, the wires fell off the power switch. Resoldered those. Did a quick test, seemed to be working all right. Recased it, put it in, and my god that's a lot of noise! I'm pretty sure there's a ground loop somewhere, because the ground channel seems to not be at 0V, closer to about 2VDC, which is odd. I'll try to figure out why/where later this week.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:39 AM
typesix typesix is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 198
The phono input is not RIAA, it is the same as the tuner input. This amp is not designed for magnetic cartridges.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2012, 03:05 PM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
what are the two transformers in there for? when iI pluged it in to the phono, it sounded very dark. are you sure? iI know tat was true for the sa 10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2012, 09:51 PM
typesix typesix is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 198
I have one that's in storage. When it was in use, a Voice of Music turntable with ceramic cartridge fed into the phono input. Plus, the owner's manual states a ceramic or crystal cartridge to be used. You can also go to look it up on http://radioshackcatalogs.com around 1970ish.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 11-14-2012, 09:59 PM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by typesix View Post
I have one that's in storage. When it was in use, a Voice of Music turntable with ceramic cartridge fed into the phono input. Plus, the owner's manual states a ceramic or crystal cartridge to be used. You can also go to look it up on http://radioshackcatalogs.com around 1970ish.
Sorry, I didn't mean to doubt you, I just figured the transformers stepped up the phono. Do you by any chance have the user and/or service manual?

I've been thinking about the amp a bit, and have come to the conclusion that there probably is not a ground loop as the static doesn't go away or change when I touch the chassis or a ground point. I'm thinking instead, that some of the old copper wire, and really old solder are oxidizing, and parts look cold soldered. I'm going to resolder everything when I get a chance, and hope that fixes it. I'll also replace all of the wire. I may recap it while I'm at it, but I'm not sure yet.

How does yours sound? It's a pretty simple design, I'm pretty optimistic about the sound quality. Mine is supposedly a later model, the transistors are horizontally mounted in a sandwich of Al on the back plate, I've seen others with more traditional, To-220 style transistors and sinks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2012, 10:32 PM
Blast's Avatar
Blast Blast is offline
Livin' after midnight.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 2,203
The transformers couple the outputs. They don't have anything to do with the pre-amp. Here's the schematic:



Brian

Last edited by Blast; 11-18-2012 at 09:19 AM. Reason: Improved schematic image
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:11 PM
typesix typesix is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by scootsity5 View Post
How does yours sound? It's a pretty simple design, I'm pretty optimistic about the sound quality.
Mine has an annoying hiss. I was only a kid when my family bought it and it always hissed. Other than that, it's sounds fine. Others have stated they do not have the hiss. There is a permanent loudness compensation built in for bass.
The user manual basically has hookup and use info, not much to read. The circuit diagram provided by Blast is also in the manual. Specs listed are:
5 watts/channel @ 8 ohms
1% distortion or less
50 - 10,000 Hz response within 2 dB
Loudness compensation is 10 db @ 50 Hz @ - 40 dB volume
Hum is 60 dB below rated output
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2012, 01:48 AM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
I'm having the same hiss (actually, I have no idea if it's the same, it's a loud white-noise, that is independent of volume). I thought grounding loop, but I'm thinking that's not it. I cannot figure it out. That schematic should help considerably. Thanks!

Last edited by scootsity5; 11-15-2012 at 01:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2012, 01:54 AM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
My next go is going to be just reflowing all of the solder (some look cold soldered) and throw in a bit more solder. If that doesn't work, then I guess replace the copious amounts of wire in it. After that? Recap, and after that? Reclaim it for parts.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:39 AM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
Scratch that. New plan.
The power supply on here is just a pair of diodes, with a cap between them (1F), there isn't even a rectifier. I'm thinking that is probably pretty noisy to begin with. If that cap started to drift below 1F, the chances of it getting noisier and noisier are pretty high. I'm going to get some scrap board and build a bank of caps, probably a 2F, 1F, and something small to bypass them. Solder that in, and see if it isn't quieter.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-15-2012, 06:22 AM
Blast's Avatar
Blast Blast is offline
Livin' after midnight.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 2,203
I remember the hiss from the day I bought my SA-100B in 1970. Didn't care if it hissed and didn't know or care much about transistors back then. But, as the years went on I thought maybe the hiss from due to the quality of the transistors.

But, you say "loud" and I wouldn't have used that word to describe it. Is the hiss equal in both channels? Or, more to one side? If it's equal in both it could very well be the power supply (a pair of diodes ARE the rectifier). I would be interested in your results as you attempt to reduce the hiss.

If the hiss is more prominent in one channel I might suspect a transistor of breaking down.

Speaking of a pair of diodes, are they drawn in backwards? I never noticed that before!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-15-2012, 08:27 AM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
its in both. I've built a few power supplies, I'll do a few things to quiet it down, and see how that goes. I'll keep you posted. iI want low esr, cheap caps, so iI may need to order them. It may be a little while.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-15-2012, 10:44 AM
scootsity5 scootsity5 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
If the noise is really all from the PS, a simple option would be to use an LM317 with a big heat sink (there's room in the case) and get the supply really flat.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-15-2012, 11:05 AM
typesix typesix is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 198
I'm interested in your results as well, as I would like to use this cute little amp without the annoying hiss.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.



Friends of Audiokarma
We appreciate your help in keeping this site going.
Black Swamp Audio
Organ Donor Parts
Sonneteer
 
Sound Stage Direct
Parts Connexion
AudioClassics
Atlantic Systems
AV Solutions
Take Five Audio
Tone Arm Audio
Audio Salon
Musical Paradise
Audience AV
Classic Sound Repair
Simply Speakers
McIntosh Cabinets
BD Enterprise
Cabledyne
Howard Products
BOI Audio Works
FM DX Antenna
Amplifiedparts
Siliconray
RSL Speakers
Vinyl Magic Record Cleaner
Salk Sound
Grant Fidelity
Urban Antigue Radio
Yesterday's Audio
Many Moons Audio
DeWick Repairs
The Tube Store
Vintage Electronics Repair
Audio Doctor
Politicalchat.org
MCM Electronics
Antique Radio Classifieds
Herbies Audio Lab
Videokarma.org
   
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2002-2014 AudioKarma.org, All rights reserved.