Help with diagnosis of a broken sound system?

emat86

Hello all from Copenhagen,

This is my first post. I found the audiokarma.org website searching for some help to do a DIY repair my old Bang & Olufsen system. I am an electrical engineer, but have never worked on audio systems before. So when my system went crazy yesterday, I thought this might be a good opportunity to open it up and learn a good bit about musical systems.

The problem is, I don't even know what my problem is! And so I was wondering if there's anyone out there that might be interested in giving me a hand with a virtual diagnosis.

The system in question is a B&O Beomaster 3500 (amp+tuner), and two B&O Beovox CX50 (speakers). I also have a B&O CD player plugged into the Beomaster, but I suspect that is irrelevant to the problem at hand. I imagine that on this forum my system is nothing special but I am extremely fond of it, and look forward to getting it back to work again!

What happened yesterday was as follows. I have a 3.5mm jack connector coming out the back of the Beomaster so that I can occasionally plug in an auxiliary music source such as a portable mp3 player. My girlfriend committed the cardinal sin of unplugging this jack from a laptop to plug it into her iPhone, without first switching off the equipment. This naturally resulted in a couple of loud sound explosions emanating from the speakers. You know, the kind that hurt you deep down. She's done it before (I've done it before if I'm going to be honest), and everything's been ok. But this time, something really bad happened, and now the system will only make nasty noises. I've uploaded a couple of wav recordings of the sound that comes out of the speakers, as I thought this might be a good first step to determining what the problem is:

1) This is the sound coming out of the speakers when I switch the system to the auxiliary input (the 3.5mm jack), with the jack not actually connected to anything. It's just lying on the floor: