Downsizing sale find - Dual 1019 - sell or keep?

BlakeMarnell

Greetings,

I'm still new to the game so perhaps its beginners luck, but I found a Dual 1019 turntable with many accessories, in working condition, on its original plinth, and with its original dustcover. However because of the nature of the plinth and dustcover construction, I'm not sure they are really that valuable.

The owner purchased the unit in Hong Kong in 1968 while he was there with the U.S. Navy. He says that the plinth and dustcover are original, but it looks to me, based on the documents that came with the unit, that the Dual 1019 was purchased unmounted by a firm in Hong Kong who then had a plinth contructed and a dustcover fabricated. This means that neither the plinth nor the dust cover would be original Dual items and if that is the case I am not sure that they have any real value other than that they are functional. I.E. not collectable or rare since them are not OEM. The dust cover has the standard light scratching and the plinth has one or two ares where the trim is a little damaged so niether of them are in perfect condition either.

The turntable works great and appears to have an Empire I cartridge installed although the documents included were for a Shure. There is noticable discolororation visible on the headshell and I am not sure how this affects valuation. I am sure that replacement headshells can be obtained so this is just an issue of added costs to make the unit more cosmetic. Accessories included were the speed calibration disk, the automatic loading tall spindle, a stylus alignment guide for use when installing new headshells/cartridges, full owner's manual in poor shape due to a nearly torn off cover and several markings but it is otherwise legible, as well as a registration card and other assorted documents.