KEF Corelli crossover help

tyella

I picked up a pair of KEF Corelli speakers at a garage sale this weekend. When I hooked them up, one sounded "buzzy." It seemed mostly isolated to the tweeter, but the woofer sounded off as well. I finally got around to opening up the offending speaker and it looks like one of the caps is in bad shape.

There's another doodad (I'm still learning the ropes!) that appears burned as well. Just under the fuzzy cap there's something that appears to be wrapped in masking tape and it looks scorched.

I plan to recap these, but what is that scorched masking tape thing? Is it just tainted by the outgassing capacitor or is it toasted? Also, does anyone know if the fuzzy gray cap has the same specs as the one just above it (0.6uf 50V)? And finally, what should I look for on replacement caps (e.g. % variance)?

Thanks,
Tony

corellicrossover_zps58f697b8.jpg

Those are inductors with the masking tape on them. Are you sure the grey component is a capacitor? Could be a resistor. Try a google search for the crossover schematic, or possibly the Kef website.

It might very well be a resistor. I found a schematic for a similar model and there was no second 0.6uf capacitor. I can't find a Corelli specific schematic, though.

Clumsily mashed out by my thumbs on a cell phone.

Although if you follow the arrow on the schematic, you will see that the cross-over is somewhat different than yours.

As a rule, the cross-over are not interchangeable from model to model.

It might very well be the same, but configured in a different patern. Look at the number behind yours and see if it's the same as the one shown in the picture, model SP1052

A bit more info for you, the cross-over are the DN-17 model, and should also mention SP-1052 on the back.

Thanks, moinau. Apparently I have the SP-1051 model. I'll try to pull the crossover tonight if i have time and read the back.