JBL 120Ti driver issue ... Please help

max_thx

Hello, I have a pair of JBL120Ti speakers which I enjoy very much. Recently, I realized that the low freq driver in the right channel plays significantly lower in volume that the left channel. I tried to swap the channels on the speaker terminals and this indeed confirmed that the issue is not the amplifier. The faulty driver is not completely dead.. just much lower in volume. I've done some searches on this particular model but so far the issues reported are related to the tweeters... My tweeters appears to be working fine.

Do any of you know how do I go about troubleshooting this issue? Could this be due to the low-pass filter components going bad?? I have some basic circuit knowledge and soldering skills... Thanks in advance!

-Max

Try swapping the woofer into the other cabinet, if still lower that would indicate the woofer is at fault.
By the same token, if you swap the "louder" woofer into the other cabinet and it is then lower in output then something in that channel is messed up. Either the speaker itself or the source (receiver, amp).

Or possibly the crossover. But without seeing a schematic for it, its hard to say if there's something in the low pass filter that could've failed.

I just did the swap of the woofers... it's weird because now they are working perfectly balanced and I have no idea why... I also measured the impedance at the driver terminals and both are around 6 ohms. I checked the crossover circuit for any obvious signs of bad components and they seem to be perfect visually. I did notice though, there were a few shredded bits of black foam like material under the woofer. Not sure where they came from, is this a bad sign? Perhaps this foam like material got stuck near the coils - causing it to not work properly?

-Max

Thanks! Loose connection is possible but unlikely. The bare wire ends were secured with the spring type connector at the drivers and they were on pretty tight.