LAST is Amazing, Wonderful, A Miracle!!

Karma16

HI,
I started this as a reponse to a thread started by ejman. When I finished I realized it may be of more general interest.

I have been using Last Record Preservative and Stylast since around 1980. I do not use their cleaning products though they are probably excellent. I have developed my own which work well.

The products must be used correctly. The Preservative and Stylast are designed to work together as a system. You will not get the full benefit unless you use both. And, you need a good RCM with a strong motor and a horizontal platter, such as the VPI models, to apply Last. This will really fill out the tool set.

If used correctly, I believe the claims made by the Last Company. If not done right, you get less benefit, or maybe, none at all. Read their web site. I know it seems like snake oil but it's not. I have been promoting Last for years but folks don't seem to believe me. I really don’t blame folks because the claimed benefits are pretty amazing. The only way to know is to try it.

I have run a careful, disciplined, long term experiment to either confirm or deny their claim of extended stylus life. I started with a brand new line contact stylus (a Monster Alpha Genesis 1000 cartridge). Without Last, one could expect about 1000 hours of life before wear forced replacement. This was my second cartridge of this type. So, I knew what to expect. Also, long experience told me 1000 hours is about the typical life span of all styli no matter what their shape. It does not vary much. After all, a diamond is a diamond.

I checked for wear both by ear and, periodically, with my Shure stylus microscope. It reveals the truth. I set up an hour’s counter to keep track of playing time. The experiment was simple but required some determination and discipline. With an experiment like this, it is very important to be totally consistent. Here is how I did it.