Renovation of my KLH 17's is complete (long)

specialidiot

Break Glass, Smoke Lucky
A couple of weeks ago I won an ebay auction for a pair of KLH Model 17s. The price was quite cheap, and the seller charged actual shipping so my cash outlay was about $45 shipped. Unfortunately, the speakers sounded like crap when I gave them their first listen. No highs at all, what sound was there was quite muddy. To make matters worse, the seller taped directly to the cabinet and they looked like crap. Luckily there was no cabinet damage and to my surprise were built from solid walnut.

A quick check on the AK forums indicated that they were definitely worth rebuilding. So began my first speaker renovation project.

I used to work as an electronics tech in the early 80's, and my wife generously assesses my tinkering around the house skills as "handy", so I looked forward to this effort.

The first step is to approach the speaker in a confident manner. Here's the subject:
approach.jpg

Remove the KLH badge and set it aside for later
logo.jpg

Carefully remove the grill. Mine was fastened by velcro, I've heard of them being glued on too. The grill is a thin piece of fiber board - like peg board without the holes - that has the speaker openings cut out and the grill cloth stapled to the back.

I used a 1-1/2 inch flexible putty knife. Use a towel where the knife meets the cabinet.
prygrill.jpg

Once you can get your fingers under an edge, just start lifting it out
liftgrill.jpg

remove the screws from the tweeter
tweet.jpg

catch a fingernail under the tweeter and lift it out. Yep, that's fiberglass insulation in there!
tweetpink.jpg

Label the wiring as you remove it. Failure to do so could cause some head scratching later
labeltweet.jpg