SX-980 am/fm low background hiss.

Happy New Year all still a newbie here recently bought a SX 980 nice unit everything works perfectly all inputs are clean no hiss no static except the AM FM tuner. If I tune off stereo with the tuner knob the hiss goes away. If I tune in on a station and flip the stereo mono switch the hiss goes away when I'm in mono mode. If I find some stations that are not broadcasting in Stereo they come in clear no hiss I am not an electronic person so I'm kind of lost so I am wondering if there's a problem inside the unit. I was told the unit was serviced but you know how that goes maybe something was missed thanks everyone for any information or help

That could be numerous things, but most of them are going to be in the tuner multiplex decoder area.

How adverturous would you like to get with the diagnosis? What test equipment do you have available?

Thanks for getting back to me I only have a multimeter but my eyesight is not good enough to do any probing on those circuit boards would you think it's a complex issue or easily resolved but a technician

If it is going to be sent out, it would be best to send it where alignments are done as well as general repair.

It's not completely obvious to me from the description that anything is wrong with the receiver (though it's certainly possible). FM stereo reception is inherently noisier than mono. You might want to say what you are using for an FM antenna, and what the signal strength meter indicates when tuned in to a station that's noisy in stereo.