Switching to LED

mist

Hi everyone,

I have an old JVC R-S33. There are three 12V 150mA lamps that light the tuner, attached is a small image cut from the schematic. I'm looking to replace all three lamps with LEDs. Only one of them is currently dead.

There are no sockets for the bulbs (they are held in place by a rubbery material that fits snugly over the glass, with the base sticking out completely). Wires just seem to run up into the base of each one, disappearing into a glob of dried adhesive. I'm hoping to cut them off, solder in sockets, and plug 12V LED bulbs into those. Will that work? Will I have to use resistors?

Sorry in advance if I'm being an idiot, but I'm totally new to this. Any help would be great. Thanks!

Attachments

• zoom.bmp
    52.6 KB · Views: 255
I also have a JVC R-S33. I recently ran across it in the free ads, and bought it used because it is identical to one of my first receivers that I bought new back around 1980 and sold a few years later. I like it alot.

A couple of thoughts about your proposed lamp retrofit.

1. I believe the incandescent lamps originally installed in this unit provide a diffused, non-focused light required to make the dial glow uniformly.

2. 12v LEDs are not that common. I believe most are rated around 3 volts. MOST are also more of a focused light, with little diffusion. If you can find 12v DIFFUSED LEDs, it might work okay. Otherwise, you'd have to reduce the voltage with resistance.

Might be just as easy to contact AKer dgwojo and try to obtain what's already there.

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your input. The LED vendor has told me that he'll be sending 12V LEDs. I didn't even know they were uncommon, so I guess I got lucky there. Hopefully they'll do the trick.